How Many Species Of Giraffes Are There?

There are four distinct species of giraffes currently recognized. These species are made up of numerous subspecies with varying patterns, features, and geographical ranges.

In the past, scientists thought there was just one giraffe species with different subspecies. But due to ongoing research in genetics and behavior, they have identified four separate giraffe species: Southern giraffe, Masai giraffe, Reticulated giraffe, and Northern giraffe. These species have unique coat patterns, body sizes, and habitats.

The Four Distinct Giraffe Species

The four distinct giraffe species include the Masai, Southern, Northern, and Reticulated giraffes, each with unique attributes and spread across geographically distinct areas in Africa.

  • Masai giraffe (Giraffa tippelskirchi): Found predominantly in Kenya and Tanzania, Masai giraffes are known for their irregular, leopard-like spots. They also have larger bodies and a darker patch color compared to other species.
  • Southern giraffe (Giraffa giraffa): The most numerous of all species, Southern giraffes have a distinctive, uniform pattern of star-shaped patches against a white background. Southern giraffe populations have been increasing in recent years due to effective conservation efforts.
  • Northern giraffe (Giraffa camelopardalis): The lowest population of the four species, Northern giraffes are found in parts of Uganda, Kenya, South Sudan, and Ethiopia. They display large, rectangular spots separated by broad white lines. Their population is sadly in decline due to poaching and habitat destruction.
  • Reticulated giraffe (Giraffa reticulata): Native to Somalia, Ethiopia, and Kenya, Reticulated giraffes have a striking, net-like pattern of large, polygonal patches outlined with thin, white lines.

Giraffe Subspecies

There are nine recognized subspecies of giraffes:

Southern Giraffe:

  • South African
  • Angolan Giraffe

Masai Giraffe:

  • Luangwa Giraffe
  • Masai Giraffe

Reticulated Giraffe:

  • Reticulated Giraffe
  • Somali Giraffe

Northern Giraffe:

  • Kordofan Giraffe
  • Nubian Giraffe
  • West African Giraffe

Conservation Status

While the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) classifies giraffes as a species of “Least Concern” as a whole, specific giraffe subspecies are facing varying levels of risk.

Some subspecies, such as the Kordofan and Nubian giraffes, are classified as “Critically Endangered,” experiencing significant population declines. Others, like the Reticulated giraffe, are listed as “Endangered” due to substantial population reductions. Habitat loss, poaching, human-wildlife conflict, and limited conservation efforts contribute to their vulnerable status.

Conservation organizations, governments, and local communities are working to protect giraffes. We can help by spreading awareness, promoting sustainable agriculture, and donating funds for research, conservation projects, and education about giraffe conservation.


The discovery of four distinct giraffe species has revolutionized our understanding of these iconic long-necked creatures. Each species exhibits unique characteristics, habitats, and population trends, contributing to the diversity and richness of African wildlife. With continuous work on conservation by organizations and communities, we can ensure that these fascinating animals thrive in their natural environments.